VET listing

ECTE VET members are carefully selected by the ECTE Council to ensure the appropriate skills, competences and attitudes necessary for their task. Consistent processes are in place for their nomination. The criteria employed by the for ECTE Council to select ECTE VET members include the following:

  1. Subscription to ECTE’s goals and objectives and core values
  2. Established experience and reputation. VET members must be men and women of established experience, maturity and good reputation within their communities.
  3. Commitment to quality assurance.VET members must understand and be committed to the value of quality assurance as applied to theological education.
  4. While all expenses are paid for, ECTE site visits are not normally compensated.VET members must be willing to give time availability on a voluntary basis for at least one on-site visitation per year.


The ECTE’s Visitation Evaluation Teams (VET) conduct on-site reviews of institutions and programmes that are seeking ECTE accreditation. VET members include academics, stakeholders and students. Each VET has a team leader that coordinates the visit and the production of the report. At the end of each on-site visit, VETs produce a Review Report that is submitted to the ECTE Council for accreditation decisions.

ECTE Visitation Evaluation Teams operate independently from the ECTE Council. The ECTE Council is responsible for all final accreditation decisions based on the VET report.

The following experts currently serve as ECTE Visitation Evaluation Teams:

  • Joachim Pomrehn (Germany)
  • Hubert Jurgensen (France)
  • Karen Fulton (UK)
  • Marcel Macelaru (Romania)
  • Paul Kleiner (Switzerland)
  • Peter Penner (Austria)
  • Hans Georg Wuench (Germany)
  • Lydia Jaeger (France)
  • Adrian Smith (UK)
  • Carmen Crouse (Germany)
  • Katharina Penner (Austria)
  • Bernhard Ott (Switzerland)
  • Göran Janzon (Sweden)
  • Andronoviene Lina (UK)
  • Bjørn Fjeld (Norway)
  • Corneliu Constantineanu (Romania)
  • Rana Wazir (Lebanon)
  • Perry Shaw (Lebanon)
  • Paul Sanders (France)
  • Caleb Hutcherson (Lebanon)
  • Horst Born (Germany)
  • Volker Kessler (Germany)
  • Erez Soref (Israel)
  • Parush Parushev (Bulgaria)
  • Mirko Fritzlar (permanent student representative – Germany)
  • Paul Kleiner (Germany)
  • Karen Fulton (Ireland)
  • Joachim Pomrehn (Germany)
  • Further student VET members are recruited on a visit-by-visit basis