Governance and leadership

The ECTE is an agency that has demonstrated over time to have adequate and appropriate human resources to carry out its work. The ECTE Council and VET teams normally operate on a volunteer basis and select staff positions are remunerated.  Remunerated positions normally include the General Secretary and other positions as necessary.


This section of the Manual describes the governance of the ECTE and is meant to be reference manual to the Association’s legal status.

ECTE Members.  The European Council for Theological Education is formed by member institutions of theological educational institutions that generally endorse the statement of faith and theological orientation of their relevant evangelical stakeholders and communities and are interested in ECTE services and fellowship. Application for membership in the association is to be made to the Coordinator. The Accrediting Council votes on applications. Members pay an annual membership fee as it is determined by the ECTE General Assembly.

ECTE General Assembly. The ECTE General Assembly is convened every two years. The ECTE Accrediting Council sends out the invitations and sets the agenda. The General Assembly elects the Accrediting Council, the Chairman and vice chairman of the ECTE by secret ballot, votes on the budget, hears and approves the reports of the Coordinator and the Chairman. It deliberates and makes decisions relative to the future work of the Association. It has the right to entertain motions.


The ECTE Council normally consists of nine members elected by the General Assembly which is to give due consideration to the various language areas of Europe. Three council members shall if possible, not be directly associated with the institutions involved. The General Secretary of the Association is an ex officio member of the Council. The Council decides on its by-laws according to which its business is conducted, and elections are held. The functions of the Council are:

  • to represent the ECTE
  • to appoint the General Secretary
  • to nominate accrediting commissions as needed
  • to provide advice to the General Secretary and the accrediting commissions,
  • to decide on the admission of new member institutions
  • to decide on the status of accreditation of institutions on the recommendation of the accrediting commissions
  • to plan the ECTE general assembly and elections
  • to handle the finances of the ECTE and to elect the Treasurer.
  • The Council may appoint commissions as needed.

ECTE Council Chairman and Vice-Chairman. The Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Association are elected by the General Assembly. As Governing Board according to §26 of BGB (Civil Law) of the FRG they are the legal representatives of the Association and legally accountable for all transactions. Chairman or Vice Chairman call and preside at meetings of the Accrediting Council and the General Assembly as stipulated in the Statutes and By-Laws of the association. The Statutes are included in the end of this Appendix.

Current council members

  • Chairman: Dr Bernhard Ott (Switzerland)
  • Vice Chairman: Dr Hubert Jurgensen (Germany)
  • Treasurer: Silke Brohl (Germany)
  • Council member: Dr Parush Parushev (Bulgaria)
  • Council member: Dr Corneliu Constanineanu (Romania)
  • Council member: Adrian Smith (UK)


ECTE General Secretary (GS).  Dr Marvin Oxenham

The General Secretary is the chief executive officer of the ECTE. He or she:

  • conducts the business of the ECTE and is accountable to the Council;
  • is an ex officio member of the Council;
  • co-ordinates and presides over the work of the commissions and is available to advise institutions on matters of accreditation as requested;
  • is entitled to the use of an office as needed.

Quality Assurance Coordinator (QAC). Dr Hubert Jurgensen

The Quality Assurance Coordinator oversees all accreditation activities and chairs the Accreditation Commission in the ECTE Council.

Review Coordinator (RC): currently vacant, General Secretary operating in stead.

The Review Coordinator oversees all accreditation visits, coordinates the Visitation evaluation teams (VET) and overseas the production and publication of accreditation review reports.

Treasurer: Silke Brohl

The Treasurer is responsible for the ECTE budget, for invoicing schools and reports to the Council and the General Assembly.

Other staff.  Other staff can be appointed by the ECTE Council and remunerated according to need.

ECTE Visitation Evaluation Teams.  Visiting Evaluation Teams (VET) are appointed as the need arises. A roster of twelve to fifteen qualified persons should be available to serve as VET members according to need. They must have the confidence of the Accrediting Council as well as that of the member institutions. The Visitation Teams are responsible for visiting a theological institution upon invitation from the General Secretary, and for writing a report. Details are enumerated in ‘Guidelines for Accreditation Teams’. VETs may also be asked by the General Secretary to be available for consultation services to institutions that request it.  Visitation Evaluation Teams generally operate on a voluntary basis.

The ECTE’s Visitation Evaluation Teams (VET) conduct on-site reviews of institutions and programmes that are seeking ECTE accreditation. VET members include educationalists, academics, stakeholders and students. Each VET has a team leader that coordinates the visit and the production of the report. At the end of each on-site visit, VETs produce a Review Report that is submitted to the ECTE Council for accreditation decisions.

ECTE Visitation Evaluation Teams operate independently from the ECTE Council. The ECTE Council is responsible for all final accreditation decisions based on the VET report.

The following experts currently serve as ECTE Visitation Evaluation Teams:

  • Joachim Pomrehn (Germany)
  • Hubert Jurgensen (France)
  • Karen Fulton (UK)
  • Marcel Macelaru (Romania)
  • Paul Kleiner (Switzerland)
  • Peter Penner (Austria)
  • Hans Georg Wuench (Germany)
  • Lydia Jaeger (France)
  • Adrian Smith (UK)
  • Carmen Crouse (Germany)
  • Katharina Penner (Austria)
  • Bernhard Ott (Switzerland)
  • Göran Janzon (Sweden)
  • Andronoviene Lina (UK)
  • Bjørn Fjeld (Norway)
  • Corneliu Constantineanu (Romania)
  • Rana Wazir (Lebanon)
  • Perry Shaw (Lebanon)
  • Paul Sanders (France)
  • Caleb Hutcherson (Lebanon)
  • Horst Born (Germany)
  • Volker Kessler (Germany)
  • Erez Soref (Israel)
  • Parush Parushev (Bulgaria)
  • Student VET members are recruited on a visit-by-visit basis

Council of Reference

  • Dr Agne Norlander (Norway)
  • Dr Henri Blocher (France)
  • Dr Rolf Hille (Germany)
  • Dr Chris Wright (UK)